Welcome back to Booze Stereo, delayed gratification edition. Last week, I talked about impulsive food prep (does a cocktail count as food? Not so much, I guess). As soon as I read about apple vermouth cocktail on Serious Eats (original recipe from Paul Clarke), I knew I had to have it. You know when a taste springs into your mind fully formed? Yeah, that’s what I had. Of course, after my impulsive assembly of ingredients, I had to wait and allow my sliced apples to steep in a litre of vermouth for five days. We finally got to taste our concoction on Saturday, when we cracked open the bottle as a brunch accompaniment.

My expectations were totally warranted. This cocktail is fruity without being froufy, as the herbal notes of the vermouth tone down the apple flavours and add a bit of sophistication. It was a great brunch drink as it was nice and light. I wish I had one of these, because I think it would be amazing fizzy. But maybe that would be over the top.

The assembly was very easy too. I made the executive decision to leave the skins on the apples, because I wanted the vermouth to pick up a nice pink colour, which it did. There was a bit of sediment in the final product after I strained it through just a fine-mesh strainer. However, I also strained it through several layers of cheesecloth and after that it came out nice and clear (see the above picture), with a beautiful coral pink tint. Another change to the recipe that I’d recommend is to reduce the number of apples. On Serious Eats, the number of apples was 8. I only used five. I had one mason jar full to the brim with apples and vermouth, and another jar that was only half-full. Next time, I’d fill two jars 3/4 full, as I found that the apples browned less in the jar that wasn’t full to the brim. I’m not sure why, but it worked better that way, maybe just because the apple-to-vermouth proportion was lower.

This was an altogether satisfying experience. I can’t wait to make another batch!

